Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

somedayI read Someday, Someday Maybe by Lauren Graham over a month ago, and figured I should probably get around to reviewing it…someday…maybe (cue eye roll).

I first heard about this book when I read Lauren Graham’s memoir Talking As Fast As I Can last November. I had no idea she had written fiction as well, and I really enjoyed her memoir, so I decided to pick this one up.

Someday, Someday Maybe follows a rather cliched sounding story: a young woman, Franny Banks, is pursuing an acting career in New York City while working as a waitress part time – but that’s one of the things I liked about this book. Even though is was a storyline we’ve seen before, it still managed to be unique on its own and even challenged the cliche a little.

This book was a fun, light summer read with a throw back to the 90s and some good advice with regards to pursuing the arts. Franny talks about being an actress and worrying she’ll never be good enough, going to endless auditions with endless rejections, making you question why you even bother. I’m not an actress and don’t plan to be one, but as a writer, my ultimate dream would be to live off of writing novels and short stories, so reading this book was definitely relatable – worrying you’ll never be a good enough as a writer, submitting to contests and literary journals but never hearing back, unable to get published, making you question your creative pursuits, just like Franny.

That’s the thing with pursuing the arts – it can be so easy to doubt yourself if you don’t have a good support system from the people around you and you’re unable to devote time to honing your craft because, let’s face it, we all need to eat, and if working as a waitress means you don’t starve then that’s great – but then you’re never receiving validation for what you’re trying to achieve with your real passion, and it just goes around and around in a circle. Throughout the book, Franny says she just wants to work in theatre in New York, that’s it, that’s all she wants – but it’s easier said than done. With this idea, the book also explores pretending to be someone you’re not, and how determined you are to fake it till you make it.

The first person narration was handled very well. It was funny, quirky, and Franny had a quick thought process that never lagged or felt pointless or dull – honestly, it was just like reading Lorelei Gilmore. In fact, I pretty much just pictured Lauren Graham as the character the whole time since basically it is her – she does sort of admit this in her memoir.

The writing isn’t stellar or anything, but it was surprisingly decent for what I was expecting, and it definitely had character (again, someone say Lorelei?) I liked that even though it is cliched, the protagonist makes her own decisions – which aren’t always predictable like you would think, and uses her own reasoning to make judgement calls that drive the story along rather than having things miraculously happen to her. Because of that, I felt it somewhat challenged the stereotypes of this type of story, making it unique. I can’t really say much else without spoiling things, so I’ll just say I appreciated this modest little story very much and I enjoyed reading it.

I wouldn’t say it’s for everyone – but if you like Gilmore Girls and acting and movies and girly fun and a bit of romance, then it’s probably for you.

