Tags

, , , , , ,

30253895Lauren Graham’s latest book Talking as fast as I can: From Gilmore Girls to Gilmore Girls (And everything in between) is an interesting and quirky mini memoir. Graham discusses her early acting life in high school and her struggles of trying to become a full time actress. She shares stories about performing the incorrect lyrics during an audition (thought that part was hilarious just picturing it) and she reveals what it was like to play the beloved character of Lorelei Gilmore from 2000-2007 and to revisit her once again in the Gilmore Girls revival A year in the Life during 2016.

I loved this book. Part of my admiration comes from knowing the show references as I’ve watched Gilmore Girls fully through three times now, and have of course recently binge watched A Year in the Life just like everyone else. There’s something special about being acutely familiar with the content of a book or content that the book references, because you feel connected to it on a different level. The other part of why I liked it so much was simply the style of it. It felt like I was sitting on the couch with her during girl’s night just chatting, listening to her stories. Everything flowed well, her personality and voice came through, and some parts even spoke to me on a personal level. You know when you read something in a book that you connect with and you think, ‘That was meant for me’? I had one or two moments like that.

From a writer’s perspective, it was interesting learning about her writing process and how her first novel Someday, Someday Maybe came to be (of which I had no idea she had written! Now I know which book I’m buying next…) I loved hearing about her sarcastic and witty perspective on Hollywood and celebrities and learning more about her, such as the fact she was born in Hawaii and grew up in Japan for a short time. Who would have thought?!

However, a few of the chapters seemed a tad random and at a loss for overall direction, but that doesn’t mean I didn’t enjoy them just as much. Graham mentions throughout the book how much of a schedule she was on to finish it, probably so that it could be released alongside A Year in the Life in late November – both were released only four days apart. The book is a good length as it is and makes for a swift, entertaining read, but I wanted more. Had there not been such a time crunch, Graham’s memoir probably could have been a bit longer with more details and in depth self and past reflections from Graham.

Overall though, I really enjoyed this book and loved Graham’s insistent speculation that the last four words of A Year in the Life are more of a cliffhanger than anything else. “Hmmm,” she says. Hmmm, indeed.

